Weeds part 5

Perhaps is just “that time of the year” again, or maybe it’s because I haven’t quite figured this whole subject out, but I’ve found myself again mulling over the topic of weeds in our spiritual life.  I’m working the Pricilla Shirer’s 5 P’s Bible study method and reading through the book of Jonah, and here in Chapter 2, we stumble upon a conversation between Jonah and God (actually Jonah talking to God) from the belly of a fish. (Yes, I mean a literal fish)

 
Jonah 2:5(H)Water encompassed me to the [e]point of death.
The great
(I)deep [f]engulfed me,
Weeds were wrapped around my head.
6 “I (J)descended to the roots of the mountains.
The earth with its
(K)bars was around me forever,
But You have
(L)brought up my life from [g]the pit, O LORD my God.
 
So, let’s picture this. Jonah is laying in a fish assuming he is near death and he is wrapped in the weeds of the sea. He is even specific to say they are wrapped around his head. I’m sure you have a visual, but let’s take it a step further using John 15 which gives us the imagery of God being our gardener.
 
I don’t think it is a coincidence that Jonah says his head was wrapped in weeds. When we are out of God’s will the easiest place for Satan to attack us and keep us headed the wrong way is with our thoughts. Self-doubt, justification, discontent, these things all make us focus inward instead of upward. Jonah found himself in the belly of a whale because he decided he knew better than God. He didn’t want to save the Assyrians, he wanted them to suffer.
 
And then, in verse 6 the even more impossible presents itself. “You have brought up my life from the pit, O LORD my God.”
 
Did you catch it? Our God loves us SO much and has SO much grace for us, and is SO much bigger than anything else we could possibly face that even when Jonah is at the bottom of the sea, wrapped in his own sin in the BELLY OF A FISH….God brings him up out of the pit.
 
Jonah was presented with a choice, over and over again he was set in front of cross roads and chose one path over the other. In Chapter 2 Jonah decided to reflect, and repent, and call out for God. God heard him, God heard him even though he was at the bottom of the sea, wrapped in his own sin in the BELLY OF A FISH…. and God brings him up out of the pit.
Leave a Reply

