Book Review: You Are Free

book review

15937124_10103113850031928_1115491488630694972_o

You Are Free is Rebekah Lyon’s newest book. It releases February 21st, but I was lucky enough to be on her launch team. I have to admit, I was really excited to read this book because Freefall to Fly was very impacting on me. The timing of receiving this book made it challenging to read. I was wrestling emotionally to stay positive while wresting with my husband losing his job, an impending move and adding hours to my work. Freedom was the last thing I was feeling.

“We weren’t made to keep up. We were made to be free. To be who we already are.”

“When we become enslaved to anything we miss out on a life of surrender and peace.”

Yep, Rebekah hit the nail on the head here. I was lacking peace and feeling nothing like myself. In fact, I think it is fair to say ministry burnout had brought me to the end of myself as I had known, and something needed to change.

As Rebekah chronicles her journey to freedom weaving her personal experiences and scripture God had drawn her to she divides freedom into several parts. Freedom in calling, starting over, waiting, and being weak all felt fresh in my heart. I wrestled with Rebekah’s words knowing they were God’s truth.

“You cannot see the unknown until you release the known.”

Rebekah writes with bold vulnerability. Admitting fears and failures. She writes of marriage counseling, depression, and anxiety. If you know any of her story, some of this won’t be new, but for me, it was more of a complete discussion.

If I had to choose just a few words to explain the tone of You Are Free I would choose strong and encouraging. Rebekah tells stories of how she was propelled forward in her journey by friends and family and strives to do the same for the reader.

“Freedom is a gift to be shared” and You Are Free is designed as the gift to encourage us all towards a life reflecting freedom in Christ, just as we were created to live.

A few extra notes: You Are Free has discussion questions at the end of each chapter. This is a great way to have springboard group discussion. The questions are designed for self-reflection. They can easily be used to journal personally as well.

There is also a study that has been created. Check out this two-minute video on the study.

You can pre-order the book You Are Free here

You Are Free study guide workbook here

DVD study here

There’s still time to grab free gifts if you pre-order before Tuesday! (like this custom brass cuff below) More freebies listed at YouAreFreeBook.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

