Book Review: No More Faking Fine

_225_350_book-2143-cover

Lament is a word I would describe as a “churchy-word”. It’s not one I’ve heard outside of reading the Bible or a bible study. I don’t remember ever hearing a sermon on lament, at least not defined by that term.

“God meets us where we are at and not where we pretend to be.” Esther Fleece’s words leapt off the page from the very beginning of this book. As she began to tell the story of her life I realized that we don’t have much in common outside of a faith in Jesus. Single, a career business woman with a challenging past wounded by her family even defining herself as an orphan, I was heart-broken by her experiences.

Although Esther and I don’t have similar experiences, she asked questions throughout No More Faking Fine that helped me realize we had more in common than I first thought.

“How often have you tried not to cry your own tears?”

“If nothing is too hard for God, then why doesn’t he deliver us from things overnight?”

“Why do we so often pull back when things are hard?”

Esther Fleece writes from a place of experience and vulnerability throughout the book. Taking the reader to Job, Joel, Habakkuk, and Nehemiah as well and Psalms Esther reveals the depths of God’s love for us through her explanation and urging towards lament in our pray life.

“Prayer was a significant part of my life, yet I had never been taught about the prayer called lament.”

“Lament, he said, is simply expressing honest emotion to God when life is not going as planned. Whether we’re hurt, frustrated, confused, betrayed, overwhelmed, sad or disappointed, lament is the language God has given us to talk to Him right in the middle of life’s messes. It’s real talk with God when you’re hurting, when all you can do is cry out for His help.”

As I read through No More Faking Fine I realized that although I may not have had language for lament, there were seasons of my life where I had journaled through lament. Fleece reminded me that God heard those cries, he always strives to for his good to be the ultimate outcome even in our hardest times.

Although I found this book to be one that made me think deeper and challenged me, I found certain sections to be long and repetitive. I felt certain parts were too much about arguing the point that lament was a good thing and not enough about the application. For that reason, I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

In exchange for an honest review, I was given a free ebook copy via BookLookBloggers.

Leave a Reply

