This Season’s Playlist

 

Different chapters of my life can be recalled in part because of the songs that were my anthems through them. The songs that became prayers, promises to cling to are the ones which still cause my mind to drift back, emotions and all to seasons past and remember God’s faithfulness.

When we moved to Virginia leaving behind the only home our boys had known and a house that still needed to be sold we pressed into Oceans by Hillsong.

Oceans   Hillsong

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

As we prayed for our new team and campus it became easy for our boys to be involved with our cry for revival through Passion Band’s Burning In My Soul.

Burning In My Soul  Passion Band

All Your sons and Your daughters
Dreaming the dreams of their Father
Seeing the signs and the wonders
The Kingdom of God

Whoa, hear the sound from heaven
Whoa, a mighty rushing wind

Whoa, we’re calling for revival
God let your fire fall again

It’s burning in my soul
Burning in my soul

I cannot contain it, this fire inside
I cannot contain it, so let it shine

These songs are still played in our house and cars but recently there is a new anthem playing for our family. It was interesting to realize the songs had shifted before the story had unfolded, but the blessing was that when we didn’t have words of our own to pray, there were songs our hearts could sing.

Take Courage  Bethel

Slow down, take time
Breath in, he said
He’d reveal what’s to come
The thoughts in his mind
Always higher than mine
He’ll reveal all to come

Take courage, my heart
Stay steadfast, my soul
He’s in the waiting
He’s in the waiting
Hold on to your hope
As your triumph unfold
He’s never-failing
He’s never-failing

You Came has taken me by surprise. It’s become a thermometer for my heart in some ways. When I can sing these lyrics without doubt, I know my focus is where it should be.

You Came (Lazarus) Bethel

You stood outside my grave

With tears still on your face

I heard you say my name

My night was turned to day

You came I knew that You would come
You sang My heart it woke up
I’m not afraid I see Your face I am alive
You came I knew that You would come

No Longer Slaves could actually be seen as a bridge song from our past season to our current one. These were the words that helped us fight the inner battles that rose up. This is the song that reminded me that we all fight battles, but the outcome has been determined.

No Longer Slaves Bethel

You unravel me with a melody
You surround me with a song
Of deliverance from my enemies
‘Til all my fears are gone

I’m no longer a slave to fear
I am a child of God

I’m linking up with Mrs Disciple for #FridayFive join us and share your playlist these days.

16730104_10212240986523311_3789824350926711712_n

Leave a Reply

